maandag 20 april 2015

Sea Level - instrumental (Macon 1976)

 Lamar Williams -bass,Chuck Leavell-piano/organ/vocals.Jaimoe - drums.Jim Nalls-guitar

Sea Level is the name of a fusion group that mixed jazz, blues and rock. Initially, it was an offshoot of The Allman Brothers Band, but as tensions grew between the loss of two of its founding members, and personal grievances between Gregg Allman and other bandmates and associates, Sea Level took on a life of its own as an independent band.

After the initial breakup of the Allman Brothers Band when Gregg Allman and Dicky Betts left, most of the remaining members who evolved into Sea Level were the trio "We Three" comprising bassist Lamar Williams, drummer Jaimoe and Chuck Leavell (piano, keyboards, vocals). The trio would occasionally open shows for the group in 1975 and 1976. With the Allmans disbanding in 1976, the trio added guitarist Jimmy Nalls and named the band based on a phonetic pun of their new bandleader Chuck Leavell's name: "C. Leavell." They toured relentlessly, experimenting and refining their sound, eventually signing with Capricorn Records (home of the Allman Brothers) and recording their self-titled debut album in 1977.

 Chuck (Alfred) Leavell (Birmingham, Alabama, 28 april 1952) is een Amerikaanse pianist en toetsenist. Hij speelde bij The Allman Brothers Band in hun hoogtijdagen en is de oprichter van de jazzrockgroep Sea Level. Hij is tevens een bekende sessiemuzikant (onder meer voor Eric Clapton) en hij speelt sinds 1983 bij The Rolling Stones. Hij werd in 2004 opgenomen in de Georgia Music Hall of Fame.
Een reactie posten