Zoeken in deze blog

vrijdag 22 februari 2019

John Mayall "USA UNION" LIVE!!

USA Union is a 1970 album by blues musician John Mayall, featuring Harvey Mandel on guitar, Larry Taylor on bass and Don "Sugarcane" Harris on violin. The album was recorded on July 27 & 28th, 1970 at Larrabee Studios in LA and released by Polydor later in the same year .

Off the road

 At the end of the sixties John Mayall was residing in Laurel Canyon, Los Angeles, California and had developed connections with local musicians, befriending Harvey Mandel and Larry Taylor, who had both just departed Canned Heat. Taylor had appeared on one track of Mayall's previous album, Empty Rooms, the only studio recordings of his "Turning Point" band, and stayed on to replace Stephen Thompson (with whom he duetted on "To a Princess"); Mandel essentially replaced acoustic guitar specialist Jon Mark, and electric violinist Harris replaced saxophonist Johnny Almond.

Nature Disapearing

 In the USA Union liner notes, Mayall noted that, after the Turning Point band broke up, he'd played a British music festival with an all-star lineup and then needed to form a new band swiftly when Polydor Records pressed him for a new album.

Pretty Girl

 The USA Union lineup would appear as some of the core of Mayall's Back to the Roots set, which featured several notable Mayall alumni including Eric Clapton, John McVie, Mick Taylor, Stephen Thompson and previous drummers Keef Hartley and Aynsley Dunbar. Mayall would keep the drumless format for just one more album, Memories, where Jerry McGee replaced Harvey Mandel as guitarist.

Harvey Mandel (born March 11, 1945),speelde samen met Charlie Musselwhite, Canned Heat, The Rolling Stones, en John Mayall alvorens hij een solocarriere begon .Hij was een van de eerste gitaristen die het z.g two-handed fretboard tapping beoefende.

Don "Sugarcane" Harris (born Don Francis Bowman Harris, June 18, 1938[1] - November 30 (or December 1), 1999) was een Amerikaanse rock & roll violist en gitarist.Vormde jarenlang een duo met zijn jeugvriend Dewey Terry Harris onder de naam Don & Terry .Hoewel ze zelf geen hits hadden waren ze wel verantwoordelijk voor bekende nummers als "Farmer John", "Justine", "Leavin' It All Up to you", en "Big Boy Pete," hoofdzakelijk uitgevoerd door andere artiesten

Larry Taylor (born Samuel Taylor, 26 June 1942, New York) meest bekend als bassist van Canned Heat Hiervoor was hij sessie bassist voor The Monkees en Jerry Lee Lewis.


                                                         John Mayall Biografie

dinsdag 19 februari 2019

Erja Lyytinen - The Sky Is Crying

Erja Lyytinen (born July 7, 1976 in Kuopio, Finland) is a Finnish vocalist, guitarist and songwriter.

 "The Sky Is Crying" is a song that has become a blues standard. It was written and recorded by Elmore Jamesin 1959. Called "one of his most durable compositions", "The Sky Is Crying" became a R&B record chart hit and has been interpreted and recorded by numerous artists.

 Lyytinen started playing guitar at age fifteen and sang in a soul music group. Her influences include singers Aretha Franklin, Koko Taylor, and Bonnie Raitt. Lyytinen is a 1995 graduate of Kuopio Senior High of Music and Dance. She studied from 1995 to 1997 at the Kuopio Conservatory, 1997-1998 in Malmö Music Academy and 2003 in Copenhagen Rytmisk Konservatorium in Denmark, and has a Master of Music degree from Sibelius Academy in Helsinki.[1]
Lyytinen's debut album was the 2002 release Attention!, released by Bluelight Records. Wildflower (2003) and It's A Blessing (2005) were also released by Bluelight Records. In 2005 she signed with the German label Ruf Records and Blues Caravan with Aynsley Lister and Ian Parker. She recorded her third solo album Dreamland Blues in 2006 at Oxford, Mississippi with David Kimbrough and Kinney Kimbrough, both sons of the Mississippi blues legend Junior Kimbrough.
After two years relentless touring, she returned with a gritty Grip of the Blues in 2008, mixing hard-edged blues with modern R&B. Her 2010 release Voracious Love featured contributions from Marco Hietala (Nightwish) on vocals and Apocalyptica's cellist Paavo Lötjönen. Ruf Records also release her first live DVD/CD on the label's prestige collection of live releases titled Songs From The Road, which has featured Luther Allison, Jeff Healey, Canned Heat, Joanne Shaw Taylor and Royal Southern Brotherhood amongst others. Forbidden Fruit was the last release by Erja Lyytinen on Ruf Records and it featured co-written songs by Alan Darby who has also written songs for Bonnie Tyler and Bonnie Raitt.
After her stint on Ruf Records, Erja Lyytinen founded together with her then-partner Davide Floreno, a label called Tuohi Records. Tuohi Records has been releasing all Erja's albums up to the present day. Tuohi Records' first release The Sky Is Crying in 2013 was a tribute to the late Elmore James, where Erja returned to her blues roots and paid homage to one of the great originators of the slide guitar. The 2015 Tuohi Records release Live In London captured Erja and her band at its peak condition at one of London' most historic (and still-running venues) 100 Club. In the summer of 2016 she ventured to London State of the Ark Studio to record her Stolen Hearts album with engineer and producer Chris Kimsey. Lyytinen has toured across Europe and has performed on all major blues/roots festivals. She has been the supporting act for Walter Trout, Carlos Santana, Southside Johnny, John Mayall and Wishbone Ash. Erja has also shared the stage and jammed with Carlos Santana, Joe Bonamassa and Sonny Landreth.


zondag 17 februari 2019

Ralph De Jongh - Somebody Will Know Someday

        Somebody Will Know Someday komt van het album Groeten uit Grolloo van Cuby & The Blizards(1967)Het is geschreven door Harry Muskee en Eelco Gelling. Ralph de Jongh zag ik regelmatig in het voorprogramma van C&B.

Somebody Will Know Someday
Een van de mooiste Cuby & The Blizzards nummers uitgevoerd door Ralph De Jongh

More Ralph De Jongh op Arthur,s Musical Journey

Ralph De Jongh Website